

SHIRE OF YORK

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 19 OCTOBER 2015 COMMENCING AT 11.17AM AT THE YORK RECREATION & CONVENTION CENTRE, YORK

Table of Contents

1.	OPENING		5
	1.1	Declaration of Opening	
	1.2	Announcement of Visitors	5
2.	ATTENDANCE5		
	21	Members	ŗ.
	2.2	Mentoring/Monitoring Panel	ŗ
	2.3	Staff	F
	2.4	Apologies	5
	2.5	Leave of Absence Previously Approved	
	2.6	Number of People in Gallery at Commencement of Meeting	5
3.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT		6
4	CLOSURE		6



SHIRE OF YORK

THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL
HELD ON MONDAY, 19TH OCTOBER, 2015, COMMENCING
AT 11.17AM AT THE YORK RECREATION & CONVENTION CENTRE, YORK

The York Shire Council acknowledges the traditional owners of the land on which this meeting will be held.

1. OPENING

1.1 Declaration of Opening

The Shire Presidentwelcomed all in attendance and declared the meeting open at 11.17am.

1.2 Announcement of Visitors

Gordon Marwick, Freeman of York

2. ATTENDANCE

2.1 Members

Cr Denese Smythe; Cr David Wallace; Cr Heather Saint; Cr Pam Heaton; Cr Jane Ferro; Cr Trevor Randell

2.2 Mentoring/Monitoring Panel

Jenni Law, Department of Local Government & Communities; Karen Chappel, Shire President, Shire of Morawa

2.3 Staff

Graeme Simpson, Acting Chief Executive Officer; Allan Rourke, Manager Works & Services, Gordon Tester, Manager Development Services; Gail Maziuk, Compliance/Human Resources; Tabitha Bateman, Finance Controller; Helen D'Arcy-Walker, Executive Support Officer

2.4 Apologies

Ni

2.5 Leave of Absence Previously Approved

2.6 Number of People in Gallery at Commencement of Meeting

There were 15 people in the Gallery at the commencement of the meeting

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Shire President called for nominations for Deputy Shire President.

Cr Denese Smythe and Cr Heather Saint nominated for Deputy Shire President.

A secret ballot was held with a tie of three votes for each candidate.

Due to two tied votes and in accordance with Schedule 4.1.5 of the Local Government Act both nominees names (Cr Smythe and Cr Saint) where placed in individual election balls and where drawn from a suitable container by Mr Gordon Marwick JP.

Cr Smythe was declared the Deputy Shire President.

Cr Smythe was sworn in by Mr Gordon Marwick JP.

Cr Wallace congratulated Cr Smythe on becoming the new Deputy Shire President.

4 CLOSURE

As there was no further business Cr Wallace thanked Mr Gordon Marwick JP for his services today and thanked everyone for their attendance, closing the meeting at 11.26am.