

ROC's Take Out WA Environment Award!

Perennial farming systems targeting wind erosion within the north eastern and southern regions of WA

A dedicated group of Natural Resource Management Officers (NRMOs) from Shires across the Wheatbelt have been recognized for their hard work in delivering a 4 year Caring For Our Country funded Project, winning the 'Government Leading by Example' Award at the WA Environment Awards held recently.

The Project, *Perennial Farming Systems Targeting Wind Erosion Within the North Eastern and Southern Wheatbelt Regions of WA*, was also recognized as a finalist in two other categories, 'Environmental Sustainability' and 'Bush, Land and Waterways'.

The seventeen shires collaborated through the agreement of three separate Regional Organisation of Councils (ROC); North Eastern Wheatbelt Regional Organisation of Councils (NEWROC), Wheatbelt East Regional Organisation of Councils (WEROC) and South East Avon Voluntary Regional Organisation of Councils (SEAVROC).

The project targets Wheatbelt farmers to incorporate perennial systems into their agricultural enterprises to address wind erosion and environmental degradation issues and has provided 1,243,792 seedlings and 95 ha of perennial pasture seed to re-vegetate a total area of 1,175ha of land.

Project Manager Lisa Clark said "The Project is a great example of how Natural Resource Management projects can be delivered across a large region encompassing a land area of over 3 million hectares".

"Providing an NRM service to farmers is becoming essential in our changing climate where the ongoing adoption of sustainable agricultural practices is vital to ensure the future of our farms" she said.

Although the project is in its final year, the group have planned to continue to implement regional scale NRM Projects including a 6 year revegetation, restoration and pest control project across the Shires commencing next year, funded by the Federal Government's Biodiversity Fund.

Photo (L-R) Katrina Kingston, Claire Baker, Jen Vincent, Rebecca Maddock, Lisa Clark, Cheryl Shenton, Donna Simmons, Steve Fry, Tracey Hobbs, Emma Wilson.

Contact: Lisa Clark 9685 1202 nrmo@mtmarshall.wa.gov.au







