York Honours Reference Group Terms of Reference



1x Councillor	-	Cr Denese Smythe (Chair)
Community Representation	-	1x representative from York & Districts Community Branch of Bendigo Bank 1x representative from York & Districts Co-Operative Ltd Up to 4x community members
Ex Officio	-	Council & Executive Support Officer
Chairperson	-	The Chairperson shall be the Elected Member Delegate
Officer Responsible	-	Chief Executive Officer
Meeting Schedule	-	Annually (November) or more frequently as otherwise required
Meeting Location	-	Council Chambers, York Town Hall
Quorum	-	Four (4) Members, including the Elected Member Delegate
Secretariat	-	The Secretariat functions will be provided by an Officer of the Shire
Delegated Authority	-	Nil
Purpose	-	 The purpose of the York Honours Reference Group is to: Determine what honours and awards are relevant and appropriate for the Shire of York and make recommendations to Council Develop the criteria relevant to various local community awards Provide advice and recommendations to Council on matters relating to community honours and awards and volunteer recognition. This may be at a local, regional, state and federal level Select the recipients of honours and awards in accordance with the designated criteria applicable to each and make recommendations to Council

1. Name

The name of the Group is the York Honours Reference Group (YHRG).

2. District/Area of Control

Local Government boundaries of the Shire of York.

3. Vision/Purpose

The purpose of the York Honours Reference Group is to:

- 1. Provide advice to Council regarding:
 - a. Community and other awards
 - b. Volunteer recognition

York Honours Reference Group Terms of Reference



2. Provide nominations for award candidates.

4. Establishment

Unknown

5. Membership

5.1 General

Council will appoint members to the Group in accordance with the following criteria:

- Resident within the Shire of York
- Committed to working as a team member for the effective operation of the Reference Group
- Knowledge of York and its community

Staff will be invited to participate in the Group by the Chief Executive Officer as required.

Council will appoint one elected member as a Delegate.

5.2 Tenure of Membership

Where a person is appointed as a member of the York Honours Reference Group membership of the Group continues until:

- The person no longer holds office by virtue of which the person became a member.
- The person resigns from membership of the Group.
- The Group is disbanded (see note below).
- Council removes the person from the Group by resolution of Council.

In a difference to other Committees and Working Groups, the York Honours Reference Group is not to be disbanded following the biennial October Local Government Elections. This is because at that time the Group will be in the process of organising the next Australia Day event and Honour Award recipients. Instead, the Group's membership will be considered in February each year following the Australia Day event.

5.3 Appointment of Community Representatives

Where timing allows, the Group may seek nominations from community members who meet the criteria referenced at 5.1 by way of local advertising. Alternatively, community members who meet the criteria referenced at 5.1 may be identified and approached for membership on a selective and individual basis.

The Group will consider applications and nominations for community representation to the Group and make recommendations to Council for appointment to the Group.

6. Delegated Authority

The Group has no delegated authority.

7. Membership

7.1 Chairperson

The role of Chairperson is to be vacated in February each year and be reappointed by Council.

York Honours Reference Group Terms of Reference



A Councillor of the Shire of York will be the Chairperson.

7.2 Secretariat

This role is to be fulfilled by Shire Officers.

7.3 Standing Ex-Officio Members

Chief Executive Officer and/or his delegate and the Council and Executive Support Officer.

8. Meetings

8.1 Group Meetings

The Chairperson shall call meetings as required.

8.2 Quorum

Quorum shall be four (4) members including one (1) Councillor.

8.3 Voting

Voting shall be by consensus or by a show of hands as directed by the Chairperson.

8.4 Minutes of Meetings

The Chairperson is to ensure that Notes are kept of the meeting proceedings.