

SHIRE OF YORK

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 19 OCTOBER 2015 COMMENCING AT 10.05am AT THE YORK RECREATION & CONVENTION CENTRE, YORK

Table of Contents

1.	OPI	OPENING		
		Declaration of Opening		
	1.2	Announcement of Visitors	5	
2.				
	2.1	Members	5	
	2.2		5	
	2.3	Staff		
	2.4		5	
	2.5	Leave of Absence Previously Approved	5	
	2.6		5	
3.	SW	EARING IN OF ELECTED MEMBERS	6	
4.	APF	POINTMENT OF COMMITTEES & COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES	7	
5	PU	BLIC QUESTION TIME	8	
_			_	
6	API	PLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE	8	
_	DE-	FITIONS / PRESENTATIONS / REPUTATIONS	_	
7	PETITIONS / PRESENTATIONS / DEPUTATIONS			
8	A NII	NOUNCEMENTS BY PRESIDING MEMBER WITHOUT DISCUSSION	0	
0	ANI	NOUNCEMENTS BY FRESIDING MEMBER WITHOUT DISCUSSION	o	
9	CI (OSURE	8	



SHIRE OF YORK

THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL
HELD ON MONDAY, 19TH OCTOBER, 2015, COMMENCING
AT 10.05AM AT THE YORK RECREATION & CONVENTION CENTRE, YORK

The York Shire Council acknowledges the traditional owners of the land on which this meeting will be held.

1. OPENING

1.1 Declaration of Opening

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed all in attendance and declared the meeting open at 10.05am.

1.2 Announcement of Visitors

Gordon Marwick, Freeman of York

2. ATTENDANCE

2.1 Members

Cr Denese Smythe; Cr David Wallace; Cr Heather Saint; Cr Pam Heaton; Cr Jane Ferro; Cr Trevor Randell

2.2 Mentoring/Monitoring Panel

Jenni Law, Department of Local Government & Communities; Karen Chappel, Shire President, Shire of Morawa

2.3 Staff

Graeme Simpson, Acting Chief Executive Officer; Allan Rourke, Manager Works & Services, Gordon Tester, Manager Development Services; Gail Maziuk, Compliance/Human Resources; Tabitha Bateman, Finance Controller; Helen D'Arcy-Walker, Executive Support Officer

2.4 Apologies

Ni

2.5 Leave of Absence Previously Approved

2.6 Number of People in Gallery at Commencement of Meeting

There were 15 people in the Gallery at the commencement of the meeting

3. SWEARING IN OF ELECTED MEMBERS

The Acting Chief Executive Officer invited Mr Gordon Marwick, JP to perform the Swearing In Ceremony.

3.1 Declaration of newly Elected Members

Cr Denese Smythe was sworn in

Cr Heather Saint was sworn in

Cr Pam Heaton was sworn in

Cr Jane Ferro was sworn in

Cr Trevor Randell was sworn in

Mr Marwick JP congratulated all elected members and candidates

3.2 Nominations for Shire President

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Shire President.

Written nominations were received from Cr David Wallace and Cr Denese Smythe.

A secret ballot was held with a four/two result.

Cr David Wallace was declared the Shire President for a two year term.

Mr Marwick JP performed the Swearing In ceremony.

Shire President, Cr David Wallace then presided over the meeting.

3.3 Nominations for Deputy Shire President

The Shire President called for nominations for the position of Deputy Shire President.

A written nomination was received from Cr Jane Ferro nominating Cr Heather Saint for the position.

Cr Heather Saint accepted the nomination.

A written nomination was received from Cr Denese Smythe for the position.

A secret ballot was held with a tie of three votes for each candidate.

The meeting was adjourned at 10.22am for the Shire President to speak with Mentors – Jenni Law and Karen Chappel.

The meeting resumed at 10.25am.

As the position for Deputy Shire President was not filled because of the equality of votes a Special Council Meeting was called in accordance with Schedule 2.3.9(1) of the Local Government Act and to be held following morning tea.

4. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES & COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES

4.1 Audit Committee

The Shire President put it to Council that all Councillors be appointed to the Audit Committee with the addition of two community members to be appointed to the Audit Committee by application by advertising.

Moved: Cr Wallace Seconded: Cr Smythe CARRIED: 6/0

4.2 Development Assessment Panel (DAP)

First Member: Cr Denese Smythe
Second Member: Cr Jane Ferro
First Alternate Member: Cr Trevor Randell
Second Alternate Member: Cr Heather Saint

Moved: Cr Wallace Seconded: Cr Ferro CARRIED: 6/0

4.3 Council Representatives to Organisations and Community Groups

4.3.1 York Health Advisory Group

Delegate: Cr Trevor Randell

4.3.2 Avon Regional Roads Sub-Group

Delegate: Cr David Wallace

4.3.3 York Community Resource Centre

Delegate: Cr Denese Smythe

4.3.4 York Honours Reference Group

Delegate: Cr David Wallace

4.3.5 Avon Midland Ward of WA Local Government Association -

Delegate: Cr Denese Smythe Deputy Delegate: Cr Heather Saint

4.3.6 Rural Road Advisory Group

Delegate: Cr David Wallace

4.3.7 Emergency Services Recovery Co-Ordinator

Chief Executive Officer

4.3.8 Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC)

Chief Executive Officer or Delegate

Moved: Cr Smythe Seconded: Cr Randell CARRIED: 6/0

5 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil

6 APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

7 PETITIONS / PRESENTATIONS / DEPUTATIONS

Nil

8 ANNOUNCEMENTS BY PRESIDING MEMBER WITHOUT DISCUSSION

The Shire President welcomed his fellow Councillors and started he is looking forward to working for the further betterment of York.

9 CLOSURE

Cr Wallace thanked everyone for their attendance and closed the meeting at 10.40am.