Broad Arrows, Buttons and Bones – York’s Convicts

Past Event


Broad Arrows, Buttons and Bones – York’s Convicts

York Residency Museum is the last remaining part of the York Convict Depot, one of only a handful that were established throughout Western Australia during the 1850’s. Several archaeological excavations have taken place here over the last eight years, giving tantalising glimpses of the everyday lives of the convicts who were stationed here whilst engaged on public works like building roads and bridges or awaiting hire by local employers. Even the button that popped off a jacket has a story to tell, you’ll never guess who it might have belonged to! Come along and find out and enjoy a wander around one of York’s most iconic heritage buildings.  

Exhibition open during museum hours (Tues, Wed & Thu 1-3pm, Sat, Sun & Public Holidays 11-3.30pm)

Official Opening - Saturday 20 April 2019, 2-4pm, York Residency Museum, Brook Street, York. Bookings for opening - museum@york.wa.gov.au 

Download Poster Here

Event Details

Time: 2pm

Venue: Brook Street, York

Enquiries

Contact: Shire of York

Phone: 96412233

Event Date(s)

  • Thursday 18th April 2019
  • Tuesday 23rd April 2019
  • Wednesday 24th April 2019
  • Thursday 25th April 2019
  • Tuesday 30th April 2019
  • Wednesday 1st May 2019
  • Thursday 2nd May 2019
  • Tuesday 7th May 2019
  • Wednesday 8th May 2019
  • Thursday 9th May 2019
  • Tuesday 14th May 2019
  • Wednesday 15th May 2019
  • Thursday 16th May 2019
  • Saturday 20th April 2019
  • Sunday 21st April 2019
  • Saturday 27th April 2019
  • Sunday 28th April 2019
  • Saturday 4th May 2019
  • Sunday 5th May 2019
  • Saturday 11th May 2019
  • Sunday 12th May 2019
  • Saturday 18th May 2019
  • Sunday 19th May 2019