Skip to Content

Access and Inclusion Plan


The Shire of York is committed to the goal of an accessible and inclusive community for people with disability, their carers and families, and the wider community.

Our vision of being an accessible and inclusive community means ensuring that all Council venues, services and facilities, both in-house and contracted, are accessible as much as practicable to everyone, regardless of their age or ability.

The purpose of the Plan is to identify barriers to access and propose solutions to ensure that everyone has equal access to services and facilities. The Plan will be reviewed annually by the Shire’s Access and Inclusion Advisory Committee.

In addition, the Plan assists the Shire to meet its obligation under the Western Australian Disability Services Act 1993 (as amended in 2004), Disability Discrimination Act (1992) and the Equal Opportunity Amendment Act Western Australia (1988).


Improving Access – Your Feedback

Your feedback is essential to informing the Shire of York about current access and inclusion barriers.  If you would like to comment on how you think the Shire could improve access to buildings, facilities or services for everyone, including people with a disability, please telephone, email or write to:

Paul Martin


1 Joaquina Street York WA 6302
PO Box 22 York WA 6302
Telephone: (08) 9641 2233

Access & Inclusion Committee

The Access & Inclusion Committee was established in 2017 as per Council Resolution and is a volunteer group of Council and Community members and the public is welcome to attend the meetings.

The purpose of the Committee is to provide advice to Council on the development, implementation, review and evaluation of the Disability Access and Inclusion Plan (DAIP) to ensure Council meets its obligations under the Disability Services Act 1993 (amended 2004).

 The Committee is to:

  • Contribute to the collation and development of information to inform the council on disability access and inclusion issues in the Shire of York.
  • To assist the engagement of a broad cross-section of the Shire of York Community, both residents and visitors, through consultative processes.
  • Contribute to the development, implementation and review of the DAIP and projects that contribute to achieving the objectives of the DAIP.
  • Make recommendations to the Council in relation to disability access and inclusion strategies to overcome barriers in the Shire of York.

Committee Members:

Ms Bev Penny                                  Chairperson

Ms Marie Forster                           Deputy Chair

Cr Jane Ferro                                    Council Representative

Cr Kevin Trent                                  Deputy

Ms Tegan Walsh                              Wanslea Family Services

Ms Liz Christmas                           Community Representative

Ms Rosemary Parker                    Community Representative

Ms Bev Penny                                  Community Representative

Ms Sarah Sloss                                Community Representative

Ms Marjorie Kirkoff                      Community Representative