Skip to Content

York Honours Reference Group - Call for community nominations

Published on Tuesday, 14 May 2024 at 8:08:16 AM

In accordance with its Terms of Reference, the York Honours Reference Group is disbanded following Australia Day. The Group consists of a Councillor, a representative from Bendigo Bank, a representative from the York & District Cooperative Ltd and up to four (4) community members.

The purpose of the Group is to:

  • Determine what honours awards are relevant and appropriate for the Shire of York and make recommendations to Council.
  • Develop and promote the criteria relevant to various community awards.
  • Provide advice and recommendations to Council on matters relating to the community which may include honours and awards, roads, reserve and place names, volunteer recognition. This may relate to local, regional, state and federal awards and honours.
  • Select the recipients of honours and awards in accordance with the designated criteria and make recommendations to Council.

The Shire of York is calling for nominations for up to four (4) community members. In appointing the nominations, Council will consider the following criteria:

  • Nominees are to be a resident within the Shire of York.
  • Nominees are to be committed to working as a team member for the effective operation of the Group.
  • Nominees are to have knowledge of York and its community.

A copy of the Group’s Terms of Reference is available HERE or from the Shire Administration Office. Policy G9 – Reference Groups, available HERE, is also applicable. The community member roles are entirely voluntary hence payment for meeting attendance or expenses is not applicable. Further information is available by contacting Vanessa Green, Council & Executive Support Officer, on 9641 0500.

Nominations close at 4.00pm on Friday 14 June 2024.  Nominations are to be in writing and can be submitted to the Shire of York, PO Box 22, York, hand delivered to the Shire Administration Office at 1 Joaquina Street, York or emailed to (preferred).

Late nominations will not be accepted.


Chris Linnell

Back to All News